Mickelson: I 'took advantage of the rules' by hitting moving ball

Photo of Mickelson: I 'took advantage of the rules' by hitting moving ball
Facebook
VKontakte
share_fav

All hell broke loose when Phil Mickelson induced a two-stroke penalty by intentionally putting a moving ball on the 13th green at the U.S. Open on Saturday, a clear violation of the rules.

According to him, it was a calculated decision.

"It's meant to take advantage of the rules as best you can," Mickelson told reporters after his round, according to FOX Sports. "I just took two shots and moved on because I didn't want to keep hitting it."

And keep hitting it he did, recording a 10 on the par-4 13th at Shinnecock Hills.

The chaotic scene left the golf world wondering what exactly had happened.

After missing a bogey putt, Mickelson ran around the hole to meet his ball rolling away on the other side, and before it came to a complete stop, Phil whacked it back toward the hole.

"I've had multiple times where I've wanted to do that. I just finally did," Mickelson added.

Lefty walked off the 13th green laughing with playing partner Andrew Johnston.

"Sorry, I can't help but laugh at that. That's one of the funniest things I've ever seen," Johnston recounted telling Mickelson, according to Kevin Casey of Golfweek. "I've never seen anything like that."

Despite celebrating his 48th birthday Saturday, Mickelson wasn't doing much laughing after the round.

His 10 was the worst score he's recorded on a hole in the U.S. Open and his 11-over 81 is his worst career round at the tournament since 1992.

He sits in 65th place, 17-over for the tournament.

Copyright © 2018 Score Media Ventures Inc. All rights reserved. Certain content reproduced under license.

view The Score - PGA Tour