International, U.S. Presidents Cup teams announced

Photo of International, U.S. Presidents Cup teams announced

The teams for the 2017 Presidents Cup at Liberty National Golf Club are set.

International captain Nick Price and U.S. captain Steve Stricker filled their last two spots Wednesday, finalizing their 12-man rosters. Price chose Emiliano Grillo and Anirban Lahiri to round out his squad, while Stricker picked Phil Mickelson and Charley Hoffman.

Hideki Matsuyama is the top-ranked member on the International team, winning three times this season on the PGA Tour, and is the world No. 3 player. Adam Scott is making his eighth appearance in the biennial event, and has a 13-17-5 overall record in his career, while Jason Day is playing on his fourth team.

Jhonattan Vegas and Adam Hadwin will make their maiden Presidents Cup appearances.

Rank Player Country Points
1 Hideki Matsuyama Japan 9.21
2 Jason Day Australia 6.35
3 Adam Scott Australia 4.34
4 Louis Oosthuizen South Africa 4.26
5 Marc Leishman Australia 3.89
6 Charl Schwartzel South Africa 3.64
7 Branden Grace South Africa 3.08
8 Si Woo Kim South Korea 3.03
9 Jhonattan Vegas Venezuela 2.98
10 Adam Hadwin Canada 2.6
11 Emiliano Grillo Argentina 2.38
12 Anirban Lahiri India 1.89

The U.S. has never lost on home soil in the history of the competition, and are the clear favorites to continue that trend this year. The Americans are loaded with Dustin Johson, Jordan Spieth, and Rickie Fowler all qualifying on points. Five-time PGA Tour winner this season Justin Thomas finished third in the standings, and will make his Presidents Cup debut.

Along with Thomas, Hoffman, Daniel Berger, Brooks Koepka, Kevin Kisner, and Kevin Chappell will also be playing in matches for the first time.

For Mickelson the selection marks his 12th appearance at the Presidents Cup, where he has amassed a record of 23-16-2. The 47-year-old has not missed a U.S. team competition since 1993.

Rank Player Points
1 Dustin Johnson 10 455
2 Jordan Spieth 9 572
3 Justin Thomas 8 581
4 Rickie Fowler 5 325
5 Daniel Berger 5 233
6 Brooks Koepka 5 096
7 Kevin Kisner 5 008
8 Patrick Reed 4 600
9 Matt Kuchar 4 479
10 Kevin Chappell 4 369
11 Phil Mickelson 3 480
12 Charley Hoffman 4 369

The event will be played Sept. 28-Oct. 1 in Jersey City, N.J.

Copyright © 2017 Score Media Ventures Inc. All rights reserved. Certain content reproduced under license.

view The Score - PGA Tour