Kim becomes youngest PLAYERS Championship winner ever

Photo of Kim becomes youngest PLAYERS Championship winner ever

Si Woo Kim became the youngest winner in PLAYERS Championship history Sunday, defeating Ian Poulter and Louis Oosthuizen by three shots to beat the strongest field in all of golf.

The 21-year-old finished at 10-under par for the week thanks to a bogey-free 69 on the TPC Sawgrass Stadium Course.

Kim came into the final round two shots back of 54-hole leaders Kyle Stanley and J.B. Holmes, but made three birdies on the front side and then nine straight pars on the back to claim his second PGA Tour title.

The victory gives the South Korean a five-year exemption on Tour, a three-year exemption into all four of the majors, 600 FedEx Cup points, and a cool $1.89 million.

Stanley finished at 6-under par for the week, which was good enough for a fourth-place tie with Rafa Cabrera Bello, while Holmes ballooned to a 12-over-par 84 and tied for 41st place.

Adam Scott was previously THE PLAYERS Championship's youngest winner after he was victorious at Sawgrass in 2004 as a 23-year-old.

Copyright © 2017 Score Media Ventures Inc. All rights reserved. Certain content reproduced under license.

view The Score - PGA Tour