D-Backs analyst calls Machado 'bush league' for dropping bat near catcher

Photo of D-Backs analyst calls Machado 'bush league' for dropping bat near catcher
Facebook
VKontakte
share_fav

Arizona Diamondbacks broadcasters Steve Berthiaume and Bob Brenly were not impressed with Manny Machado on Tuesday night.

The San Diego Padres third baseman was called out by home plate umpire Bill Welke for catcher interference on a pop up in the sixth inning.

Leaving the box, Machado dropped his bat near D-Backs catcher John Ryan Murphy, who dropped the ball. One of the broadcasters referred to Machado's bat placement as "bush league."

The ump agreed and called Machado out on the play. Padres skipper Andy Green saw things differently, argued the call, and was tossed from the game.

"A batter has certain protections when he's in the batters' box when he’s the batter," Welke said, according to AJ Cassavell of MLB.com. "The minute the batter makes contact with the ball, he’s no longer the batter, he's the batter-runner. The batter-runner has to give way to a fielder making a play on a batted ball. ... It doesn’t matter if it's intentional or not. A runner always has to give way to a fielder making a play on a batted ball."

Machado didn't think he did anything wrong on the play.

"I hit the fly ball, looked up, saw it, put my head down and went to go run," Machado said. "I don’t even think I touched him. (Murphy) even said, 'No.'"

The mercurial infielder has developed a bit of a reputation around the league over the years. Most recently, he was accused of being a dirty player by the Milwaukee Brewers during last year's National League Championship Series after sliding hard into second base a couple of times and stepping on first baseman Jesus Aguilar's leg while running through the bag.

Was Machado guilty of interference or was his bat drop incidental?

Copyright © 2019 Score Media Ventures Inc. All rights reserved. Certain content reproduced under license.

view The Score - MLB Baseball